Review: BLACK HEART

Stars: 4/5

 Format: Hardback

 Read: April 5, 2012

First off, I hate the fact that they changed the cover when the first two in the series are similar. I don’t particularly like this cover either. It’s too retro ’70s and doesn’t match the first two with the awesome models posing like gangsters. Why can’t they just give me the option to buy a cover similar to the first two? It’s messing with my OCD, not even kidding.

This was a decent end to the series. In the first two, there was a lot of people “working” people, using their powers, and even an exploration of what powers are and how they came to be. There isn’t a lot of that in this book by comparison. However, what there is totally makes up for the slight blandness of the story. You get to learn more about Cassel’s powers, his flirtation with the feds and what he deems “the good side” of his life, and the one and only love of his life. I was mostly satisfied.

The book series as a whole leaves me lacking. I sort of feel like I’m talking with a person who just has a forgettable face and personality and leaves me with no impression whatsoever. That’s not to say that it isn’t very well written with strong characters, it’s just that it isn’t my favorite nor will it ever stand out in my mind as a series that impacted me one way or the other. Cassel will forever be a fantastic inherent “bad” guy always trying to be good, but he left me with nothing to aspire to daydream with.

All that aside, if you’ve read the first two books, you must read this one because I believe Black did a good job ending the story. Plus I did care quite a bit about Cassel and his views on life, even if he wasn’t very memorable to me. So I enjoyed it, but it was more like a small snack before a big meal in terms of satisfaction in the long run.

P.S. Why is the cover art on the audio CD and Kindle version different than this ’70s pop art nightmare? That artwork would match my set! I demand a printing of it in hardback!!
In case you were wondering, this is the cover I found on Goodreads for the Kindle and Audio CD version. It also MATCHES.

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 stars, Review

Leave a Reply

